The National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) are calling upon all NBDB-registered publishers to submit their nominations for the National Book Awards 2015.

Nominated titles in Filipino and English published within 2014 are eligible for the award. As in previous years, a third language is included for nominated titles in the Literary Division. This year, Ilonggo/Hiligaynon and Kinaray-a books published within the last three calendar years (2012-2014) may be submitted.

Among the changes in the NBA’s Nomination/Selection Criteria are the addition of the Essays Category in the Literary Division and the splitting of History and Journalism into two separate categories in the Non-Literary Division. Translation, a new category added last year, covers “a book translated from one language into a Philippine language, English, or Spanish; or from one Philippine language to another Philippine language.”

The winner of each category, except Publisher of the Year, will receive a cash prize of P15,000, which will be awarded to the author or book designer. Moreover, special awards will be given to the winners of the National Book Awards. These include Juan C. Laya Prize, Alfonso T. Ongpin Prize, Iñigo Ed. Regalado Prize, Cirilo F. Bautista Prize, Philippine Literary Arts Council Prize, Elfren S. Cruz Prize, and Komisyon sa Wika ng Filipino Prize.

To download a copy of the rules, click on this link .

Deadline of submission of entries is May 30, 2015. Books mailed from outside Manila will be accepted if postmarked May 30, 2015.