The National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle (MCC) hosted a formal ceremony on November 22, 2014 at the Marble Hall, Museum of the Filipino People, National Musuem, City of Manila to fete the recipients of the 33rd National Book Awards (NBA). NBDB Chair Flor Marie Sta.Romana Cruz and MCC Chair Isagani R. Cruz were on hand to award the winners with trophies designed by sculptor Pete Jimenez.

Below is the list of NBA winners for books published in 2013:

(For books published in 2013)

Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Philippine Language
Ang Banal na Aklat ng mga Kumag, by Allan N. Derain, Anvil Publishing, Inc.

Juan C. Laya Prize for Best Novel in a Foreign Language
Fish-Hair Woman, by Merlinda Bobis, Anvil Publishing, Inc.

Best Book of Short Fiction in Filipino
Sa Himaymay ng Puso at iba pang Kuwento, by Macario Pineda,
Ateneo de Manila University Press

Cirilo F. Bautista Prize for Best Book of Short Fiction in English
Now, Then, and Elsewhen, by Nikki Alfar, University of Santo Tomas Publishing House

Best Anthology in English
Manila Noir, edited by Jessica Hagedorn, Anvil Publishing, Inc.

Best Anthology in Bikol
Hagong: Mga Osipon, edited by Paz Verdades M. Santos and H. Francisco V. Peñones Jr.,
Ateneo de Naga University Press

Best Book of Non-Fiction in Filipino Language
Anim na Sabado ng Beyblade at iba pang Sanaysay, by Ferdinand Pisigan Jarin, Visprint Inc.

Best Book of Non-Fiction in English
Mona Lisa: A Portrait from the Memoirs of a Grandmother, by Celine Beatrice Fabie, Mona Lisa Publication

Best Book of Poetry in Filipino
Labi, by Kristian Sendon Cordero, Ateneo de Manila University Press

Philippine Literary Arts Council Prize for Best Book of Poetry in English
m’mry wire, by Ricardo M. de Ungria, University of Santo Tomas Publishing House

Best Book of Poetry in Bikol
Canticos: Apat na Boses, by K.S. Cordero, University of Santo Tomas Publishing House

Best Book of Graphic Literature in Filipino
PilandoKomiks Isyu 2: Mga Pagsubok ng Karagatan, by Borg Sinaban, Adarna House, Inc.

Best Book of Graphic Literature in English
The Dark Colony Book I: Mikey Recio & The Secret of the Demon Dungeon, by Budjette Tan, Bow Guerrero, and J. B. Tapia, Visprint

Best Translated Book
Doros asín mga Anghél: Translations in Bikol of John Donne’s Holy Sonnets and Selected Works,translated by Victor Dennis T. Nierva, Ateneo de Naga University Press

Alfonso T. Ongpin Prize for Best Book on Art
Balay Ukit: Tropical Architecture in Pre-WWII Filipino Houses, by Maria Virginia Yap Morales,Anvil Publishing, Inc.

Elfren S. Cruz Prize for Best Book in the Social Sciences
Tapping Ink, Tattooing Identities: Tradition and Modernity in Contemporary Kalinga Society, North Luzon, Philippines, by Analyn V. Salvador-Amores, The University of the Philippines Press

Best Book in History and Journalism
Story Book: Essays on the History of the Book in the Philippines, by Patricia May B. Jurilla, Anvil Publishing, Inc.

Best Book on Food
Milk Pigs & Violet Gold: Philippine Cookery, by Bryan Koh, Holy Angel University Press

Best Book on Science
Science Philippines: Essays on Science by Filipinos, Volume II, edited by Gisela P. Padilla-Concepcion, The University of the Philippines Press

Best Design
Made of Gold, by Cid Reyes, designed by Aman Santos, Metrobank Foundation

Publisher of the Year
Anvil Publishing, Inc.

This year’s NBA board of judges are Isagani R. Cruz, Ruel De Vera, Shirley Lua, Joel Pablo Salud, and Danton Remoto from the MCC; Abdon Balde from the Komisyon ng Wikang Filipino appointed to the NBA board of judges by the MCC; and NBDB-appointed judges Angelo Lacuesta, writer and editor; Rolando Tolentino, writer and Dean of the College of Mass Communications at UP Diliman; Ronald Baytan, Associate Professor at DLSU Manila and Associate Director, Literary Studies of the DLSU Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center (BNSCWC); Danilo M. Reyes, writer, critic, and Associate Professor of the School of Humanities, Ateneo de Manila University; Paolo Manalo, writer and Professor at the College of Arts and Letters, UP Diliman; Elbert Or, comic book creator, illustrator, and graphic designer; Marne Kilates, writer and translator; Benilda Santos, writer, critic, and Professor at the Department of Filipino, Ateneo de Manila University; Gemino H. Abad, writer, critic, and Founding Member of the Philippine Literary Arts Council; Carlos O. Aureus, writer and Professor at UP Diliman; Ringo Bunoan, artist, writer, and researcher; Nicolas Pichay, writer and Director of Legislative Research Service at the Philippine Senate; Lila Shahani, Assistant Secretary of Human Development and Poverty Reduction, Cabinet Cluster of the Philippine Government; Jose Victor Torres, Writer and Associate Professor at DLSU; Ma. Luisa Enriquez, Director of the DLSU Center for Natural Science and Environmental Research; Kristine Fonacier, writer and editor; Claude Tayag, chef, restaurateur, and food and travel columnist; and Dan Matutina, graphic designer and illustrator.