The National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Philippine Board on Books for Young People (PBBY) announce the winners of the 6th National Children’s Book Awards (NCBA). From 218 nominated titles and a shortlisted 29 finalists, 3 titles emerged as winners. The NCBA is a biennial event that honors the best published books for children and young adults published in the previous two years. A maximum of ten titles may be included in the Best Reads list. In 2014 and 2016, a panel of child judges shortlisted ten titles and voted for their top choice through the Kids’ Choice Award.

The passion to develop children’s books in the country can be traced to Dr. Jose Rizal’s retelling of “The Monkey and the Turtle.” This was published in Trubner’s Oriental Record in London in July 1889. The third Tuesday of July is celebrated as National Children’s Book Day to commemorate the anniversary of its publication.

The awards aim to encourage parents and care givers to spend more time reading with their children while recommending the best published works.

The winners for the 6th National Children’s Book Awards are:

  Ang Maliit na Kalabaw
Illustrated and written by Liza Flores
Adarna House, Inc., 2018
  Cashaysayan: A History of Philippine Money (Halo-Halo Histories Book 2)
Written by Michelline Suarez, Joonee Garcia, and Divine Reyes
Illustrated by Benjor Catindig
Tahanan Books for Young Readers, 2018
  Pitong Tsinelas (Seven Slippers)
Written by Divine Gil Reyes
Illustrated by Benjor Catindig
Tahanan Books for Young Readers, 2018

The NCBA is co-administered by NBDB with PBBY. The PBBY is a private, nonstock, nonprofit organization committed to the development of children’s literature in the Philippines.

The NCBA is judged by a panel of award-winning children’s book authors, illustrators, and scholars. The esteemed judges are Dr. Christine Bellen-Ang, Dr. Rebecca Anoñuevo, Ms Dolores Carungui, Dr. Lina De Rivera, and Mr. Russell Molina.

This year, the NBDB and PBBY accepted nominations of books published in 2018 and 2019.

The awarding ceremony will be held in July 2021 during the National Children’s Book Day celebration.